Calendar

Please check the Calendar regularly, as events and/or timings may change unavoidably.

Spring Term 2019 Calendar PDF Download

Sport fixture details can be found on our Sport page.

SPRING TERM 2019

DAY DATE YEAR(S) EVENT TIME VENUE
WEEK A
Mon 7 Jan Whole School Start of Spring Term
Tues 8 Jan Year 11 French GCSE Mock Orals (Round 1) TBC Burge Bldg
Wed 9 Jan Year 11 English Literature GCSE Exam (Unit 1 Resit) 9am-11am Function Room
Year 11 French GCSE Mock Orals (Round 1) TBC Burge Bldg
Thurs 10 Jan Year 9 Police Liaison Talk ‘Double Trouble’ 10am-10.55am Burge Bldg
Juniors Music Trip to WMC: ‘Matilda’ 1pm – 6pm WMC
Whole School PTA Meeting 4pm-5pm Function Room
Fri 11 Jan Year 12 Careers Talk: USW 12.15pm-1pm LRC
WEEK B
14 – 18 January Year 5 Swimming Lessons Afternoons

Only

Cwmbran Stadium (Mon-Thurs)

Pontypool (Fri)

Mon 14 Jan Year 11 Sixth Form Interviews (parents invited) 8am – 5pm Sixth Form Centre
Year 11 Careers Assembly 12.15pm – 1pm LRC
Tues 15 Jan Year 11 Sixth Form Interviews (parents invited) 8am – 5pm Sixth Form Centre
Seniors Pupil Council Meeting 1.30pm – 2pm Burge Bldg
Wed 16 Jan Reception Lego Shop Trip & Cardiff Museum 9am – 4pm Cardiff
Seniors Police Liaison Talk ‘Look Who’s Talking’ 10am – 11am Burge Bldg
Staff Head of Subject Meeting 4.05pm – 5.05pm Burge Bldg
Thurs 17 Jan
Fri 18 Jan
Sat 19 Jan Seniors Scholarship Assessment Entry to Years 7 & 9 9am – 1pm Auditorium
Prep Scholarship Assessment Entry to Year 5 9am – 1pm Llantarnam Hall
WEEK A
21 – 25 Jan Year 6 Swimming Lessons Afternoons only Cwmbran Stadium (Mon-Thurs)

Pontypool (Fri)

Mon – Fri 21-25 Jan Year 5 & 6 Show My Book Week 3.15pm-5.15pm Llantarnam Hall
Mon 21 Jan Year 11 English Language GCSE Oral Exams 9am – 4pm TBC
Year 12 Careers Talk: USW 12.15pm – 1pm LRC
Staff Extended SMT Meeting 4.15pm Conference Room
Tues 22 Jan Year 9 Parents’ Evening (parents arrive from 5.30pm) 5pm Auditorium
Year 11 Chemistry GCSE Practical Exams (Day 1) TBC Labs
Wed 23 Jan Year 8 Police Liaison Talk: Look Who’s Talking 10am-11am Burge Bldg
Year 11 Chemistry GCSE Practical Exams (Day 2) TBC Labs
Thurs 24 Jan Invigilator Training – Qualifications Wales 2pm-4pm Biology Labs
Staff Eco Committee Meeting 4.10pm – 5pm Conference Room
Staff Prep School Meeting 4.10pm – 5pm Conference Room
Fri 25 Jan Senior LDC LDC Workshop Day All Day LDC
Year 11 Physics GCSE Practical Written Paper 9am – 10am Sports Hall
Year 12 Careers Talk: USW 12.15pm – 1pm Sixth Form Centre
Year 10 Physics GCSE Practical Exam 2.05pm – 3pm Sports Hall
WEEK B
Mon 28 Jan – Fri 1 Feb: Years 12 & 13 A Level Mock Examinations, Sports Hall
28 Jan – 1 Feb Year 3 Swimming Lessons Afternoons only Cwmbran Stadium (Mon-Thurs)

Pontypool (Fri)

Mon 28 Jan Reception Vision Screening 9am – 12pm Classrooms
Staff Health & Safety Meeting 4.15pm – 5.15pm Conference Room
TBC Biology GCSE Practical Written Paper 9am – 10am Function Room
Tues 29 Jan Staff Biometric Review Meeting 4.10pm – 5pm Conference Room
Wed 30 Jan Year 11 Chemistry GCSE Exam: Unit 3 Written Exam 9am – 11am Function Room
Nursery Working with Day Centre 10.15am – 11.30am St David’s Hospice
Year 8 Parents’ Evening (parents arrive from 530pm) 5pm – 7.30pm Auditorium
Thurs 31 Jan
Fri 1 Feb
WEEK A
Mon 4 – Fri 8 Feb: Nursery & Reception Parents’ Consultations, 8am – 5pm
4 – 7 Feb Year 4 Swimming Lessons Afternoons only Cwmbran Stadium (Mon-Thurs)

Pontypool (Fri)

Mon 4 Feb Seniors Assembly: Safer Internet Day 12.20pm – 1pm Auditorium
Staff Critical Incident Planning Meeting 4.15pm – 5.15pm Conference Room
Tues 5 Feb Seniors Pupil Council Meeting 1.30pm – 2pm History 2
Years 1 & 2 Parents’ Consultations 3.30pm – 6pm Refectory
Years 3 & 4 Parents’ Consultations 4.30pm – 7pm Infant Hall
Wed 6 Feb Juniors Choir singing at St David’s Hall in Barnados in evening & rehearsal in day 9am – 9.30pm St David’s Hall, Cardiff
Nursery Working with Day Centre 10.15am – 11.30am St David’s Hospice
Staff Exam access arrangements training for teachers of Years 9 and above 4.05pm – 4.35pm LDC
Year 10 Parents’ Evening (parents arrive from 5.30pm) 5pm – 7.30pm Auditorium
Thurs 7 Feb Prep Liverton Opticians Talk 9am – 3pm Classrooms
Years 9 – 11 UK Mathematics Trust: Intermediate Maths Challenge 9am – 4pm Burge Bldg
Years 1 & 2 Parents’ Consultation 3.30pm – 6pm Refectory
Staff Exam access arrangements training for teachers of Years 9 and above 4.05pm – 4.35pm LDC
Years 3 & 4 Parents’ Consultation 4.30pm – 7pm Refectory
Fri 8 Feb Nursery Nursery Open Morning 9.30am – 10.30am Nursery
Juniors Swimming Gala PM Pontypool Leisure Centre
WEEK B
Mon 11 Feb Year 9 Vaccinations: SLB/MEN ACWY (Boys and Girls) 9am – 12pm Function Room
Tues 12 Feb Years 10 – 13 Art Trip to Tate Modern, London 7am – 7pm Tate Britain, London
Year 12 A Level Fieldwork 9.15am – 3.30pm TBC
Year 9 & 12 Careers Fair 5.30pm – 8pm Burge Bldg
Wed 13 Feb Nursery Working with Day Centre 10.15am – 11.30am St David’s Hospice
Staff Exam access arrangements training for teachers of Year 9 and above 4.05pm – 4.35pm LDC
Seniors Beauty & the Beast – Day 1 7pm – 10pm Auditorium
Thurs 14 Feb Seniors Beauty & the Beast – Day 2 7pm – 10pm Auditorium
Year 13 Orientation Visit Re: Auschwitz Trip (2 students) 3pm – 7pm Cardiff
Fri 15 Feb Years 3 – 6 Junior House Quiz 9am – 11.30am Infant Hall
Year 9, 11 – 13 Linguists Language Talk (P4 Y11, P5 YS11-13)

Speaker: Charlie Berney

12.15pm – 3pm LRC
SPRING HALF TERM (18/02/19 – 22/02/19)
Wed 20 Feb Year 13 Visit to Auschwitz (2 students) 7am – 10pm Auschwitz via Cardiff Airport
Sun 24 Feb Year 13 Auschwitz follow-up seminar (2 students) 1pm – 4.30pm Cardiff Hotel
WEEK A
Mon 25 Feb – Fri 8 March: FAIRTRADE FORTNIGHT – Whole School
Mon 25 Feb – Fri 8 March: Year 11 Mock GCSE Examinations, Sports Hall
Mon 25 Feb Staff Extended SMT Meeting (Senior & Prep) 4.15pm Conference Room
Tues 26 Feb Whole School Winter Sports Teams, Music Group & Sporting Achievers Photographs 9am – 12noon Auditorium
Year 11 Sixth Form Options & Open Evening 5.30pm Burge Bldg
Wed 27 Feb Year 5 Visit to SS Great Britain 9am – 3.30pm Bristol
Nursery Working with Day Centre 10.15am – 11.30am St David’s Hospice
Thurs 28 Feb Infants Fire Talk (KS1) & KS2) 10.30am Infants
Fri 1 March Infants Infant Eisteddfod 9am – 12noon Infant Hall
Juniors Junior Eisteddfod 9am – 12noon Auditorium
Seniors Senior Eisteddfod 2pm – 4pm Auditorium
WEEK B
Mon 4 March Staff Health & Safety Committee Meeting 4.15pm Conference Room
Tues 5 March Seniors Pupil Council Meeting 1.30pm – 2pm Burge Bldg
Year 6 Parents’ Consultation 4.30pm – 7.30pm Auditorium
Wed 6 March Year 4 Visit to Cilfynydd Waterworks 9am – 4pm Cardiff
Nursery working with St David’s Day Centre 10.15am – 11.30am St David’s Hospice
Staff Governors Meeting 2pm – 6pm Conference Room
Thurs 7 March Year 9 GCSE Options Evening 5.30pm – 8pm Burge Bldg
Whole School World Book Day
Fri 8 March Year 11 Art & Design GCSE (Day 1) 9am – 4pm Art Dept
Year 13 15 Hour Art & Design A Level Exam (Day 1) 9am – 4pm Art Dept
Sat 9 March Year 13 15 Hour Art & Design A Level Exam (Day 2) 9am – 4pm Art Dept
Year 11 Art & Design GCSE (Day 2) 9am – 4pm Art Dept
Sun 10 March Year 13 15 Hour Art & Design A Level Exam (Day 3) 9am – 4pm Art Dept
WEEK A
Mon 11 March Staff Critical Incident Planning Meeting 4.15pm – 5.15pm Conference Room
Sixth Form A Level Master Classes (conferences) on books & films – details TBC ‘Routes into Languages’/Cardiff Uni TBC TBC
Year 11 External Moderation Visit: GCSE Sport 9am – 2pm Site wide Sports Facilities
Tues 12 March Prep Artist in for the day 9am – 4pm Prep Sch
Year 12 Newport Wetlands Fieldwork (Biology) 9am – 1pm Newport Wetlands
Year 5 Parents’ Consultation 4.30pm – 6pm Auditorium
Wed 13 March Whole School Whole School Open Morning 9.30am – 12noon Whole School
Nursery Working with Day Centre 10.15am – 11.30am St David’s Hospice
Years 7-9 KS3 School Challenge Quiz 2pm – 5pm Monmouth School
Reception – Y13 Musical Evening 5pm – 6.30pm Auditorium
Thurs 14 March Year 9 Police Liaison Talk: ‘Dangerous Deception’ TBC Burge Bldg
Year 5 Parents’ Consultation 4.30pm – 6pm Auditorium
Fri 15 March School Black Tie Event Evening Auditorium
WEEK B
Mon 18 – Fri 22: Reception to Year 4 ‘Show my Book Week’ in classrooms
Mon 18 March Year 12 Oxford & Cambridge: Student Conference 8am – 5pm Liberty Stadium Swansea
Tues 19 March
Wed 20 March Governors Full Board Meeting 2pm – 6pm Conference Room
Thurs 21 March Year 12 UCAS Convention 12pm – 3pm Cardiff Met Cyncoed Campus
Year 7 Parents’ Consultation 5pm – 7.30pm Auditorium
Fri 22 March Prep Prep School Big Pink Charity Walk 9am – 4pm Caerleon
Seniors Mufti Day – Wear an item of pink All Day
Infants Music for Youth – Infant Strings TBC Newport Centre
WEEK A
Mon 25 March Staff Termly Calendar Meeting 4.10pm – 5.10pm Conference Room
Tues 26 March Year 13 Physics Exam: Unit 5 Practical 9am – 4pm Physics 2
Wed 27 March Sixth Form Years 12 & 13 Invitation Parents’ Evening (parents arrive from 5.30pm) 5pm – 7.30pm Auditorium
Years 7 – 13 Faure Requiem Mass Rehearsal & Performance w/Hereford Cathedral Sch Choir (limited numbers of choir in attendance by invitation only this year) 10am – 9.30pm Hereford Cathedral
Thurs 28 March Year 3 Visit to Caerleon Roman Museum 9am – 3pm Caerleon
Fri 29 March Year 12 EESW Big Bang Fair 7.30am – 5.30pm TBC external
Year 13 Physics Exam: Unit 5 Practical Analysis 9am – 11am Function Room
Year 5 Mother’s Day Afternoon Tea 2pm – 4pm Refectory
WEEK B
Mon 1 – Fri 5 April: Year 10 Mock GCSE Examinations start (linear courses), Sports Hall
Mon 1 April Years 11 & 13 Formal Group Leavers’ Photographs 12.30pm – 2pm Auditorium
Year 11 French Mock GCSE Orals (round 2) During French French
Tues 2 April Year 13 Biology Exam: Unit 5 Practical 9am – 11am Biology Lab
Wed 3 April Senior Spanish Pupils Spanish pupils’ exchange trip departs TBC Valencia
Thurs 4 April
Fri 5 April Year 13 Biology Exam: Unit 5 Practical Analysis 9am – 11am Function Room
Infants Spring Festival 9.15am – 11am Infant Hall
Juniors Spring Festival 2pm – 4pm Auditorium
END OF SPRING TERM
Mon 8 April Senior Spanish Pupils Spanish pupils’ exchange trip returns TBC TBC
SUMMER TERM BEGINS

WEDNESDAY 24 APRIL 2019

WEEK A