When it comes to the GCSE years of Key Stage 4, we believe in choice. Maths, English Language and English Literature normally remain compulsory, as does Physical Education. But, following a special conference half-way through Year 9, pupils choose six further subjects.

The option subject groupings vary from year to year to cater for the aptitudes and interests of pupils.

Normally at least one modern language, one science subject and one humanities subject are taken by each pupil in order to ensure a broad and balanced education.

The full list of subjects available is as follows:

LanguagesSciencesHumanitiesCreative Arts
FrenchBiologyBusiness StudiesArt
LatinPhysicsHistoryDesign & Technology
Religious StudiesDrama


In addition to compulsory and option subjects in Years 10 and 11, pupils have the opportunity to take additional GCSEs in Physical Education and Latin. For pupils seeking an extra challenge the Higher Project Qualification is also available in Year 10.